Non-State Sector

Non-State Sector Overview

The Non State Sector Programme (NSS) was introduced as the new component for EPWP in 2009. The programme uses wage subsidies to support Non-Profit Organisations (NPOs) on their community development initiatives. The NSS comprises of two programmes, namely the Community Work Programme (CWP) and the Non-Profit Organisation. The CWP is area based and is managed by the Department of Cooperative Governance.

The NPO is institutional based and is managed by the Department of Public Works. The NDPW as the custodian of the programme offers an administration fee and a subsidy for the wages of the people employed in the Non-Profit Organisations, The wage subsidy is designed to provide additional funds to different type of programmes that create employment.